//
you're reading...
author interview, books, indie authors, interview

One-on-one with Lori Gordon

Today we have Lori Gordon, author of “State of Panic” among many other stories, as well as a marketing entrepreneur.

“When a romantic evening results in a horrific murder, Sierra Montgomery knows she is earmarked for death. Haunted by her lovers dying screams and the killer’s cold black eyes, Sierra has only one choice. To run.” Find out more at lorigordonauthor.wordpress.com

A little background on Lori Gordon for those who do not know her, before we begin our interview.
Lori Gordon has created stories since childhood and in recent years she’s written paranormal, science fiction, a family novella, and thrillers and has had short stories published in a variety of anthologies. When fate dealt her an unexpected twist and Lori found herself among the millions of unemployed, she decided it was now or never and wrote her debut thriller State of Panic. She is at work on her second novel featuring Detective Andi Lawson which will be released in early 2012. She enjoys writing unique, multi layered characters, and loves to both read and write character driven stories.

1- As a marketing executive and entrepreneur, what made you decide to pursue writing?
Writing has always been a passion of mine. Some of my earliest memories are of going to Kroch’s and Brentano’s in downtown Chicago with my Mom when I was a little girl. I was in awe of all the shelves of books and the wonderful stories waiting to be read. I think I decided then and there that I wanted to be an author one day. I’ve always loved to write and dabbled at it over the years but life kept getting in the way and I lacked the time to commit to it on a serious level. And then the unexpected happened — as a result of the economy, I found myself downsized! I decided it was now or never, and I plunged into writing State of Panic.

2- I have read a lot of good reviews on your book “State of panic.” Is this your first thriller novel?
Yes, it is. I love the genre, and hope that with time and experience, each new book will help me grow as a thriller writer.

3- You have published many short stories in 4 anthologies, will you still be writing short ones or focusing more on novels?
I will be focusing more on novels but a group of friends and I just published an anthology called The Dead Shoe Society. What make it unique is that we all write different genre’s so it was a fun collaboration and we do plan on a Volume II.

4- Your book (State of Panic) is available through Pill Hill Press, and also on Nook and Kindle. What made you choose this independent press?
Jessy Marie Roberts is a wonderful lady and a pleasure to work with. I was lucky enough to have a few of my short stories published by Pill Hill, and I wrote State of Panic with the intent of submitting to them. They are very professional and I can’t say enough good things about them.

5- Who is your favorite author, and what kind of book do you like to read?
That’s a tough one! I have many favorite authors. Erica Spindler, Tami Hoag, Sandra Brown, Mary Higgins Clark, J.A. Jance, J.A. Konrath, Lawrence Block, and James Patterson’s Alex Cross novels…which also gives you an idea of the types of books I like to read.

6- Now tell me a little about your next project?
My next novel, Till Death, introduces a new set of characters that I plan to continue. Andi Lawson is a former psychologist turned cop. Nikki Fletcher uses sex and flamboyance to mask the pain of an abusive childhood. When a serial killer puts the city on edge, the two women form a terse alliance to outwit the madman before he kills again.

Thank you Lori for this nice interview.

You can find more about Lori Gordon at
www.lorigordon.net
lorigordonauthor.wordpress.com/state-of-panic/
independentauthornetwork.com

Wishing you all a nice and Happy Christmas and holiday season.

Thanks for stopping by : )

About nadinaboun

"The rebel, the lonesome warrior and the butterfly." I am a poet and writer. I love music and fiction as well as classic reads from past centuries, yet I am part of the indie author brotherhood of the modern world :) My first published book is a funny satire short called "The thinking man, Paralysis by Analysis".

Discussion

2 thoughts on “One-on-one with Lori Gordon

  1. Great interview, Nadina! And this book sounds really cool! 😉

    Posted by John Hansen | December 23, 2011, 5:24 am

Leave a Reply

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Upcoming

...

Hosted by

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

